Faculty

 

Full-Time Faculty
Tyler Abbott
Instructor in Jazz Studies
(jazz bass)
tylerabbott@hotmail.com

Mike Denny
Instructor in Jazz Studies
(jazz guitar, small jazz ensembles, theory, improvisation)
mdenny@uoregon.edu

Gary Hobbs
Adjunct Instructor
(jazz drumset)
tubmanbeat@hotmail.com

Toby Koenigsberg
Associate Director, Jazz Studies
(jazz piano, repertoire, composition/arranging, small jazz ensembles)
tobyk@uoregon.edu

Devin Wright
Instructor in Jazz Studies
(jazz performance lab, jazz repertoire, composition/arranging)
dwright2@uoregon.edu

Paul Krueger
Instructor in Jazz Studies
(jazz history, jazz pedagogy, jazz arranging, jazz trumpet,
JazzArts Oregon director, interim director of the Oregon Jazz Ensemble)
kruegerp@uoregon.edu

Don Latarski
Emeritus Instructor
(studio guitar, recording techniques)
latarski@uoregon.edu

Brian McWhorter
Professor of Trumpet
(jazz trumpet)
bjm@uoregon.edu

Steve Owen (on sabbatical during 2018-19 school year)
Director, Jazz Studies
(Oregon Jazz Ensemble, small jazz ensembles,
jazz performance labs, composition/arranging, repertoire)
sowen@uoregon.edu

Idit Shner
Professor of Saxophone
(jazz saxophone, ensembles)
ishner@uoregon.edu

Carl Woideck
Emeritus Instructor
(jazz history, rock history, blues history)
cwoideck@uoregon.edu

 

2018 – 2019 Jazz Graduate Teaching Fellows (GTFs)
Dylan Brown
(combo outreach asst., admin. asst., small jazz ensembles)
dbrown13@uoregon.edu

Jonathan Corona
(rock history asst., jazz history asst., small jazz ensemble)
jcorona@uoregon.edu

Robin Fey
(JazzLab II director, jazz recording/mixing/editing, small jazz ensemble)
rfey@uoregon.edu

Austin Hass
(jazz history asst., small jazz ensembles)
ahass2@uoregon.com

Ken Mastrogiovanni
(JPL class asst., latin ensemble director, jazz drum set asst.)
kmastro3@uoregon.edu

Nathan Poehlke
(admin. asst., jazz librarian, lab asst., small jazz ensembles)
npoehlke@uoregon.edu